Student Forum

Bob Gay Student Scholarship

Following the establishment of The Bob Gay Lecture Series in 2012, the Bob Gay family decided to sponsor a $1000 Student Scholarship, which will be awarded annually to two cytotechnology students who have demonstrated academic excellence and the potential to make contributions to the cytology profession.  The recipients of the 2021 scholarship will be honored at the  2021 ASCT Annual Conference which will be held August 26-28, 2021 at the Westin Denver Downtown in Denver, CO. The recipients will receive funding from ASCT Services, Inc. to attend the conference. The scholarship application period is now OPEN.  To learn more, visit ASCT Services.   Scroll down for the application and overview. The application period is now closed. If you are interested in applying for the 2022 scholarship, please reference the application and required scholarship information below so you are prepared to apply next year!  The 2022 scholarship will be presented at the Annual Conference in Tampa, FL, May 13-15.

Congratulations to the 2019 Bob Gay Scholarship Winners - Sydney Reed, University of Arkansas and Jeanie Orr, Central Piedmont CC!
This scholarship was established by Kim Kowalczik in memory of her father, Bob Gay, who made significant contributions to the education of cytotechnology students and was a founding member of the ASCT. 
The scholarship awards $1,000.00 and sponsorship (travel and accommodations) to the upcoming  ASCT annual conference to an outstanding student.  

Candidates must have completed the first six months of training in an accredited cytotechnology program and must be members of the ASCT. The award is based on academic performance, financial need, service and a demonstrated potential to make significant contributions to the cytotechnology profession.  Student membership with ASCT is complimentary and is a requirement for the scholarship application.

Warren R. Lang Student Awards

ASCT invites Cytotechnology students enrolled in cytotech programs to participate in the ASCT Student Case Presentations at our Annual Conference each year.  Present what you have learned during your cytology training and you will have the opportunity to win $150!

Both content and presentation are considered when determining awards. All student participants will each receive a "Certificate of Recognition" and be acknowledged at the conference and on the website. This is a wonderful opportunity for students to showcase their talents and meet and interact with other students and cytotechnologists. 

Up to 10 students are selected to present their case presentation in person. Because we know that not all students can attend the conference, ASCT also invites all students to submit their presentation for a computer loop that is shown during the break time sessions of the conference.  All student conference registration will be paid for by the ASCT Foundation! Remember, students must be ASCT members to receive the free registration.  Join online here. For more information on submitting a presentation, contact ASCT Education Chair, Liza DiFillipo.

Congratulations to the 2019 Student Presentation Winners!

1st place - Morgan Carey, Indiana University School of Medicine
2nd place - Angelica Carter (Indiana University School of Medicine & Chelsea Grasser - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

3rd place -  Taylor Jackson University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Computer Presentation Winner: Kevin Tran, UCLA School of Cytotechnology



2018 Student Presentation Winners

1st place: Briana Rebmann, METC Program Fort Sam Houston, Texas
2nd place: Ioan Tudor Vladislav, University of Wisconsin-Madison
3rd place: Elizabeth Fisher, Indiana University
Computer Presentation Winner: Avrina Ririe, University of California, Los Angeles

2017 Student Presentation Winners

1st - Amanda Vallow, UT at MD Anderson School of Health Professions
2nd - Franklin Barber, UT at MD Anderson School of Health Professions
3rd - Christina Barbato, Thomas Jefferson University

2016 Student Presentation Winners

1st - Kathryn Kiely, Anisa I. Kanbour School of Cytotechnology of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
2nd - Jennifer Paul, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
3rd - Chowdhury Tabassum, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center School of Health Professions
Computer presentation winner - Danielle Garcia, Rutgers School of Health Related Professions

Student Membership

Open to students enrolled in approved schools of cytotechnology. A letter from the school (including completion date) should be submitted to ASCT.  Student membership is complimentary.  Upon graduation, current student members can renew at the rate of $30, for their first year of employment.  Join today!